BREAKING NEWS: Vernon Kay and Reggie Yates are to leave Radio 1

9 Nov

300radio1

BBC Radio 1 announced this morning that Reggie Yates and Vernon Kay will both step down from their current positions at the station commencing next year.

This will see Reggie leave the station after being part of it for 10 years. Vernon has also been there for a while, nine and a half years in the total on the weekend line-up. The new schedule will come into change next year.

Vernon said:

“I’ve had an incredible nine-and-a-half years at Radio 1 that has exceeded all of my expectations, it has been a fabulous experience and I’ve loved the weekends I have spent with my listeners. However, when I was offered a contract extension I thought long and hard, but after 12 years of working weekends with CBBC, T4 and Radio 1, I felt it was the right time to leave as the girls are now both in school so weekends are more precious than ever.”

1012697clReggie also commented:

“I have absolutely loved my time hosting the Chart Show. It’s been a privilege to deliver to the nation the weekly No.1 song, but after 10 years at Radio 1/1Xtra I am looking forward to focusing on other projects and new challenges.”

10377774 Presenter, Matt Edmundson will take over from Vernon on Saturday mornings from ten o’clock to one o’clock and also Sunday mornings with Sara Cox busy filling in for Fearne Cotton when she goes on maternity leave.

Jameela Jamil will replace Reggie Yates on the chart, the first-ever female solo presenter. This is what she had to say about her new promotion:

“I am absolutely delighted and honoured. I’m fully aware that I have big shoes to fill and am so excited to get started… I’ve grown up listening to the official chart so I cannot thank Radio 1 enough for the amazing opportunity.”

Jameela will be replaced by YouTube sensations Dan and Phil (featured with Scott Mills in Edinburgh this year) and bring with them a fully, interactive show all streamed online. This is what Dan and Phil had to say about the news:

“We are extremely excited to start this new show! We think it’s really changing the idea of a request show and bringing it into the internet generation. It’s going to be an explosive two hours of great music, lols and interactive content that’s completely visualised on the Radio 1 website and we want it to stand out as one of the highlights of the week!”

Tom Deacon will also make a permanent return to Radio 1 replacing Matt Edmundson on Wednesday nights with a brand new Comedy show. This is what Tom had to say about the news:

“I’m really excited about this new show,” he said. “I’ve been doing stand-up comedy for six years and presenting on Radio 1 for the last three, so I’m delighted to be bringing these things together. Expect awesome comedians live in the studio, great music, and lots of laughs… I can’t wait to get started.”

Finally, Ben Cooper, Controller of BBC Radio 1 and 1Xtra said:

“I’d like to thank Vernon and Reggie who have both been excellent ambassadors for Radio 1 and Radio 1Xtra during their ten years with us. I wish them all the very best. I’m excited by our brand new shows, which will appeal to the smartphone generation with our audience able to listen, watch and share Radio 1’s great content.”


What is my view?

Well, this was certainly expected. Vernon Kay is soon hitting 40, time to leave I think. I used to really enjoy his Saturday show however recently that isn’t the case. I think he does still connect with a young audience to an extend however I now think that yes, this is a good time for him to move on. Good luck Vernon for the future.

On Reggie Yate’s departure, to be honest I am quite annoyed as I think Reggie does a great job on the chart every Sunday and loved him when he filled in for Greg James a while back in the afternoons. He is slick, smooth and an inspiration. For him to be leaving is a little disappointing as he does connect with Radio 1’s target audience very much. However, I think this decision was more on his side rather than the station’s. Good luck in TV and Film Reggie! 

Matt Edmundson, well I used to really like them, then I went off him and now I really like him again. He is unique, funny and has a great archetypal ‘radio voice’.  He will make a great addition. Good luck Matt!

Jameela Jamil taking over the chart, this will be interesting. She only started at the station a few months ago and now she is already presenting the only Official Chart in the UK which is on Radio 1. I think its a risk as she’s fairly new to the radio industry, she is just about getting used to Sunday nights and lets say it will make a good listen. Plus, she has a lot to live up to being the first female solo presenter to present the Chart and have it visualised from 6pm. Jameela’s had it literally made for her though and has anybody noticed that she is following in the footsteps of Reggie, Request Show and now the Chart. Good luck Jameela, I’m sure you will be great!

Leave a Reply

